Hall of Fame

Image Details
Inducted in: 2020

David Cassell (D.C.) Wismer

David Cassell Wismer pioneered the cataloging of obsolete notes in The Numismatist as early as 1907, but he is best known for his article the "Descriptive List of Obsolete Paper Money" that ran in The Numismatist from June 1922 to November 1936. Mr. Wismer passed away on May 31, 1949, predating the SPMC. He was a 50-year member of the ANA , member #127, joining in December 1892.

Inducted in: 2020

Allen Mincho

After graduating from New York University Law School in 1971 Allen became a full-time currency dealer in 1980. He specialized in National Bank Notes and Large Size Type notes and has personally handled the lion’s share of the rarities that have come to market in the last four decades.

Inducted in: 2020

Len Glazer

Len Glazer, a co-founder and president of Currency Auctions of America, is widely recognized as one of the country's foremost authorities on paper money. Before graduating from St. John's University, he became a recognized dealer of - and authority on - Fractional Currency. In 1975, Len founded Fractional Currency Incorporated. In 1990, Len helped start Currency Auctions of America, Inc.

Inducted in: 2020

C. John Ferreri

C. John Ferreri started collecting paper money in 1969 and was attracted to the artistry that was usually found on it, especially the obsolete issues. Starting with an interest in Connecticut issues he soon branched out to the rest of the New England States, keeping him busy for the next 50 years.

Inducted in: 2019

Frederick Charles Cogswell (F.C.C.) Boyd

F. C.C. Boyd was born in New York City on April 4 or 10, 1886 and died on September 7, 1958. He is primarily known to the numismatic world today through the sales of the John J. Ford Collection, the latter having acquired many numismatic items from Boyd. His numismatic interests were far reaching, from colonials to odd and curious, as well as political ribbons.

Inducted in: 2019

Lyn F. Knight

Lyn Knight has been involved in Numismatics for 56 years staring with very humble beginnings to the present day where he conducts auctions and operates the annual International Paper Money Show. Lyn grew up in Cherokee Iowa, a nice little community in northwest Iowa.

Inducted in: 2019

James Roy Pennell, JR

Pennell was born on May 29, 1924 and passed away on June 17, 2008.  Mr. Pennell received a Bachelor of Science Degree in Civil Engineering from Clemson University and was a graduate of the Harvard Business School (1973 - 1975). He served in the United States Naval Reserve during World War II and the Korean Conflict.

Inducted in: 2019

Austin Sheheen, JR

A long time collector of South Carolina paper (notes, stocks, bonds, etc), Mr. Sheheen holds SPMC member #2207 and Life Member #122. He served the society as President from 1991-1993; vice-president 1989-1991 and governor from 1988-1992. He published South Carolina Obsolete Notes in 1960 and did a major revision South Carolina Obsolete Notes and Scrip in 2003.

Inducted in: 2019

George Wait

Mr. Wait was one of the founders of the SPMC holding member #5, Honorary Member #5 and Honorary Life Member #5. He was a leading proponent of paper    money research and publication. He was the author of two books in SPMC's landmark Wismer Series, one on Maine notes and the other on New Jersey notes. He was the first secretary of the society and served it for many years.

Inducted in: 2018

Louis Van Belkum

Mr. Van Belkum was SPMC member # 707 and received the Nathan Gold award in 1976. He was a school teacher in Grand Rapids, Michigan. His main interest was National Banknotes.