Hall of Fame

Image Details
Inducted in: 2018

Louis Van Belkum

Mr. Van Belkum was SPMC member # 707 and received the Nathan Gold award in 1976. He was a school teacher in Grand Rapids, Michigan. His main interest was National Banknotes.

Inducted in: 2018

Hugh Shull

Hugh is a world renowned dealer, author and expert in the field of United States Obsolete and Confederate Currency for over 40 years. He is Life Member #6 of the SPMC.

Inducted in: 2018

Neil Shafer

Neil is SPMC member #681. He has received many awards from the Society including the Nathan Gold Award in 1967.  He is one of the worlds’ top authors and researchers for paper money. He was integral in assisting in developing the Standard Catalogue of World Paper Money.  Neil joined the Air Force Orchestra, based in Washington, DC.

Inducted in: 2018

Matthew (Matt) Herman Rothert

Matt is SPMC member #166. He served as on the SPMC board of governors from 1967-1969. He received two awards of merit and the Nathan Gold Award in 1964. He is best known for his efforts to have the motto "In God We Trust" put on our currency, a project he began in November 1953 and which he shephered through Congress until President Eisenhower signed it into law on July 11, 1955.

Inducted in: 2018

Martin Delger

Martin is SPMC member #4762. He served the Society as governor from 1982-1984 and was awarded the Nathan Goldstein award for recruitment three times. He also served as the exhibit chairman for the Internation Paper Money Show in both Memphis and Kansas City for many years only having retired this year. He was a collectors of Michigan Nationals and Fractional Currency.