Hall of Fame

Image Details
Inducted in: 2014

William West Bradbeer

Bradbeer was author of the groundbreaking Confederate and Southern States Currency; Historical and Financial Data, Biographical Sketches; Descriptions with Illustrations in 1915.  In February 1914 he gave an “Interesting Lecture on Confederate Paper Money” at the New York Numismatic Club.

Inducted in: 2014

George Herbert Blake

An early pioneer in paper money, at the 1914 ANA convention, he exhibited paper money including a dollar bill Series 1, plate 1, number 1, plate A. This was the first of many unusual serial number paper money exhibits he would place. One of his specialties was fractional currency.

Inducted in: 2014

Eric Pfeiffer Newman

Mr. Newman held SPMC membership #290. He served as vice-president from 1975-1979 and governor in 1962 and 1973-1976. He was awarded the Nathan Gold Memorial award in 1968. Specializing in Colonlial Currency, he is the author of the definitive work of that series. He established the Eric Newman Educational Society and museum at St. Louis University.

Inducted in: 2014

Tom Bain

Tom Bain was a founding member of the Society of Paper Money Collectors. He held SPMC membership #112 and Honorary Life Membership #3. He was the second SPMC president from 1963-65.  He also served as second VP from 1961-1963, governor from 1964-1982 and served on the awards and nominating committees. He received an SPMC's president's award in 1969 and the Nathan Gold Memorial award in 1981.